Home Features LAGoss.com goes inside Outfest for its 35th year

LAGoss.com goes inside Outfest for its 35th year


Outfest was celebrating its 35th anniversary this year, and LAGoss.com got to be a part of it.

From powerful screenings to incredible celebrity appearances and amazing parties, the LGBTQ Film Festival was 11 days that won’t be forgotten anytime soon.

We were lucky enough to be at the historic Orpheum theatre for the opening night gala, where Zachary Quinto and Kristin Chenoweth honoured Bryan Fuller.

After a screening of God’s Own Country, guests rubbed shoulders at the after-party while sipping flavoured vodka and tucking into food from LA eateries, as a DJ spun classic hits like I Will Survive and Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.

Film festival: LAGoss.com was lucky enough to be at Outfest, where Zachary Quinto, Kristin Chenoweth and Bryan Fuller kicked things off | Guillermo Proano/WENN.com

During the week, we watched hilarious Irish movie A Date For Mad Mary, saw Tatiana Maslany introduce her short film Apart From Everything, and were captivated by documentary Boys For Sale, which won the Fox Inclusion Feature Film Award.

LAGoss.com was on the red carpet for Hello Again, where we chatted to Glee star Jenna Ushkowitz, and we also got a sneak peek of Transparent’s upcoming fourth season.

During a Q&A, Jeffrey Tambor broke down in tears as he discussed Maura’s journey, and also said the show had changed his life.

Outfest went out with a bang with the help of a screening of Freak Show, directed by Trudie Styler and based on the novel by James St. James.

Moving: Jeffrey Tambor broke down in tears while discussing Transparent | FayesVision/WENN.com

Laverne Cox, Alex Lawther, Bette Midler, Abigail Breslin and AnnaSophia Robb all star in the brilliant movie.

We caught up with Trudie, Laverne and Lisa Edelstein on the red carpet, and of course the festival wasn’t over without another brilliant party – this time in a converted bank vault.

See the full list of Outfest Los Angeles 2017 Awards below:

Audience Awards

Best Documentary Short Audience Award
Little Potato, Directed by Wes Hurley and Nate Miller

Best Documentary Feature Audience Award
Chavela, Directed by Catherine Gund and Daresha Kyi

Best Narrative Short Audience Award
The Real Thing, Directed by Brandon Kelley

Best Narrative Audience Award
The Chances, Created by Shoshanna Stern and Josh Feldman, Directed by Anna Kerrigan

Best Experimental Short Audience Award
Pussy, Directed by Renata Gasiorowska

Audience Award for Best First U.S. Narrative Feature
A Million Happy Nows, Directed by Albert Alarr

Grand Jury Awards

Documentary Grand Jury Prize

Documentary Special Mention
Girl Unbound: The War to Be Her

U.S. Narrative Jury Prize Best Actor 
Luka Kain for Saturday Church

U.S. Narrative Jury Prize Best Actress
Ever Mainard for The Feels

Best Screenwriting in a U.S. Feature
Eliza Hittman for Beach Rats

U.S. Grand Jury Prize
Jennifer Reeder for Signature Move

U.S. Narrative Special Mention
195 Lewis

International Grand Jury Prize
The Wound, directed by John Trengove

International Special Mention
Marcelo Caetano for Body Electric

Best Documentary Short (TIE)
Bayard & Me by Matt Wolf, and Jeanne Cordova: Butches, Lies & Feminism by Gregorio Davila

Documentary Short Special Mention
Al Otro Lado (The Other Side), directed by Rodrigo Alvarez Flores and Pedazos, directed by Alejandro Pena

Best Narrative Short
Goddess (Devi), directed by Karishma Dube

Special Programming Awards

Emerging Talent
Samantha Lee for Maybe Tomorrow

David France and Victoria Cruz for The Death and Life of Marsha P. Johnson

Artistic Vision 
Erlingur Thoroddsen, Rift

Fox Inclusion Feature Film Award
Boys For Sale, Directed by Itako

Fox Inclusion Short Film Award
Ma, Directed by Vera Miao